ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Welcome to the ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Ohio.gov

ODPS Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Fees for Services

The BMV accepts the following types of payment for services provided at local Deputy Registrar license agency offices:

Cash, Personal Checks, Money Orders, Certified Cashier Checks, Traveler's Checks, County Agency Vouchers, Intra-State Agency Vouchers

 

A late fee of $10 will be assessed to vehicle registration renewal transactions if renewed more than thirty days beyond the expiration date.

ODPS | BMV | Current Title Fees

Driver License

Temporary Permit Packet
$22.00
 
Temporary Permit Packet (When expired beyond 6 months and within 2 years)
$25.00
 
First Driver License
(age 21 or older)
$23.00
(age 20) 
$19.25
(age 19) 
$20.50
(age 18) 
$21.75
(age 17) 
$23.00
(age 16)
$24.25
 
Renewal
$25.75
 
Duplicate /Replacement
$24.50
 
Moped License
$21.00
 
Suspension & Reinstatement
Click here for fees.
 

Commercial Driver License

CDL Temporary Permit
$27.00
 
First CDL License
$42.00
 
Renewal CDL
$44.75
 
CDL  Add Endorsement
$43.00
 
Duplicate / Replacement CDL
$27.00
 

State Identification Cards

New / Renewal
$8.50
 
Duplicate / Replacement
$7.50
 

Miscellaneous Driver License

Deputy Registrar Transaction Fee
$3.50
 
Lamination Fee
$1.50
 
Vision Screening
$2.75
 
100% Disabled Veteran
No Cost
ODPS | BMV | Vehicle Registration Fees

Registration

Plate/Registration Transfer  
$4.50
 
Duplicate/Replacement Sticker
$4.50
 
Replace/Exchange 1 Plate
$10.50
 
Replace/Exchange 2 Plates
$11.75
 
Replacement Registration  
$4.50
 
Temporary (30-day) Tag  
$18.50
 
Out-of-State Vehicle Inspection
$3.50
 
Snowmobile/APV (3 years)
$34.75
 
Snowmobile/APV (1 years)
$14.75
 
Restricted Plate
(with current Registration)
 
$11.75
 
Plate(s) Mailing Fee

Based on current rates

 

Annual Vehicle Renewal Registration Fees*

Passenger  
$34.50
 
Personalized
This fee is charged in addition to the standard registration and permissive tax fees
 
$50.00
 
Initial Reserve
This fee is charged in addition to the standard registration and permissive tax fees
 
$25.00
 
House Vehicle/Moped  
$24.50
 
Motorcycle  
$28.50
 
Motor Home  
$49.50
 
Light Non-Commercial
(up to ¾ ton capacity)
 
$49.50
 
Heavy Non-Commercial
(over ¾ -1 ton capacity)
 
$84.50
 
Commercial Trailer 
 
$39.50
 
Commercial Truck
Click here Based on declared GVW
 
Farm Truck
Click here Based on unladen weight
 
Commercial Bus
Click here Based on declared GVW
 
Non-Commercial Trailer
Click here Based on unladen weight

*The above registration fees do not include permissive (local) taxes which vary based on the taxing district of the customer.

Permissive tax cannot exceed $20.00 per vehicle and may be prorated, by law, by 50% if registering for less than 6 months.

Taxing Districts by County

Find a Weigh Scale Near You


Renewal Options


Vehicles that qualify for a Multi-Year registration renewal will pay annual registration fees and permissive tax multiplied by the number of years being registered. The following are applicable Deputy fees.

1 Year
$3.50
 
2 Years
$5.25
 
3 Years
$8.00
 
4-5 Years
$10.00
 
Comm. Trailer 1-7 Years
$3.50
 
ODPS | BMV | Vehicle Registration Fees

Special Plates

Retention
$10.00


Retention fee is in addition to all other applicable fees.

 

Annual Special Plate Fees vary, based on the special plate type.

 

Note: Fees for special plates are charged annually in addition to other applicable fees. Fees are subject to change based on new legislation

ODPS | BMV | Title Fees

Titles

Archive Fee
$5.00
(Manufactured Homes, House  
Trailers, Built Homes only)  
 
Cancellation of Lien
No Fee
 
Certificate of Title  
$15.00
 
Duplicate Certificate of Title
$15.00
 
Late Fee  
$5.00
 
Lien Notation (on existing title) 
$15.00
 
Lien Notation (with title transfer) 
$15.00
 
Memorandum Certificate  
$5.00
 
Out-of-State Inspection
Total
$5.00
Inspection Fee $3.50
Clerk Fee $1.50
 
Salvage Title (Motor Vehicle)
$4.00
 
Salvage Title *
$5.00
*Watercraft Salvage Titles are issued only to Law Enforcement  
 
 
Sworn Affidavit  
$1.00
ODPS | BMV | Vehicle Registration Fees

Miscellaneous

New Removable Windshield Placards
Permanent: 5 years
 
$3.50
Temporary: up to 6 months
$3.50
 
Replacement Windshield Placard 
 
$3.50
 
Renewal Removable Windshield Placard
(If expired over 6 months, a new placard must be purchased)
$3.50
 
Notary Public Fee 
 
$1.50