Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.
In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) proof. It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner's vehicle without FR proof.
Section 4509.101 of the Ohio Revised Code prohibits an individual from operating a motor vehicle in Ohio without maintaining proof of FR continuously throughout the registration period with respect to that vehicle, or in the case of a driver who is not the owner, with respect to that driver's operation of that vehicle. The law requires financial responsibility in the minimum amount of $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident, $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident, and $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
Section 4501:1-2-02 of the Ohio Administrative Code has been amended to permit proof of financial responsibility (insurance) by electronic means. Beginning July 24, 2014 insurance companies may now provide proof of financial responsibility identification card(s) in electronic format for display on smart phones, tablets, and other electronic devices. As with all forms of proof of financial responsibility (insurance), law enforcement officers, courts, and all other authorities should exercise their own best judgment as to whether the proof provided is legitimate and reliable.
For More Financial Responsibility Information Contact:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 16583
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6583
Individuals must maintain one of the following to comply with the FR requirements:
Ohio law requires verification of proof of financial responsibility whenever a person is "randomly selected" by the BMV and requested to provide such verification. This process includes the mailing of letters to a random selection 5% of registered Ohio vehicle and noncommercial truck owners. Approximately 5,400 notices are generated per week or 280,000 notices annually.
The BMV is required to send written notice by regular mail to the owner of each vehicle randomly selected, informing the owner that proof showing financial responsibility coverage was in effect on the date specified must be submitted within 21 days of the mailing of the notice. This notification is sent to the person at the person's last known address as shown on the records of the BMV.
The owner may submit evidence to show that the vehicle is exempt because the vehicle:
The Random Selection Program is administered by a subsidiary office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles located in Hudson, Ohio.
For this program only, correspondence should be addressed to:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 209
Hudson, OH 44236-0209
Call 1-877-315-6605 with questions.
Ohio's FR law requires every applicant for registration of a motor vehicle and every applicant for a driver's license, or the renewal of such license, to sign a statement indicating that the applicant maintains, or has maintained proof of financial responsibility at the time of application, and the applicant will not operate a motor vehicle in Ohio without maintaining proof of financial responsibility.
Proof of financial responsibility is required to be verified under the following circumstances: