ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Welcome to the ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Ohio.gov

ODPS Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Driver License Suspension & Reinstatement

ODPS | BMV

Violation of Liquor Law

Ohio Revised Code Section 4510.33

Cause
          • A person of insufficient age to purchase intoxicating liquor or beer uses someone else's driver's license or alters his own license to make such a purchase. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles is usually notified by the clerk of the Liquor Control Commission.

Length of Suspension
          • One year.

Appeal Procedures
          • Person may file an appeal within 20 days of the mailing of the notice in the municipal or county court, or if under the age of 18 years, in the juvenile court in whose jurisdiction such person resides. He must agree to pay the cost of the proceedings and allege error by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles in the suspension of the license or in one or more of the matters within the scope of the hearing.

Reinstatement Requirements
          • Serve one year suspension.
          • Re-take a complete driver license examination if the driver license was altered.
            Driver must take a complete Driver License Examination.  Be sure to take the required Acceptable Documents when testing for the driver license.
          • Additionally, reinstatement fee will be required if the suspension notice was mailed on or after 10/01/97.