ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Welcome to the ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Ohio.gov

ODPS Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Mandatory Insurance

ODPS | BMV | Contacts

Since 1995, mandatory insurance requirements are as follows:

            • Requires persons who submit an application for motor vehicle registration or a driver license to sign a form describing all the possible penalties to which a person could be subject for driving without proof of financial responsibility insurance.
            • Requires persons who submit an application for motor vehicle registration or a driver license to sign a form describing all the possible penalties to which a person could be subject for driving without proof of financial responsibility insurance.
            • Requires a law enforcement officer to request the owner or operator of a motor vehicle to produce proof of financial responsibility at the time of a traffic stop, at the scene of an accident, or at the time of a motor vehicle inspection.

Any person who fails to show proof of financial responsibility to a law officer must submit proof to traffic violations bureau with any fine or to the court at any court appearance. If the offender fails to show proof to the court, the BMV will mail a letter providing him/her 30 days to submit proof to the BMV before any suspension action will be taken.

The penalties imposed by this law include increased Noncompliance Suspension periods and reinstatement fees. When required, proof of financial responsibility may be shown by one of the following documents:

            • Insurance policy;
            • Insurance identification card;
            • Section A (Insurance Information) of a State Crash Report;
            • Surety bond of $30,000 issued by an authorized surety company;
            • BMV bond secured by real estate having equity of at least $60,000;
            • BMV certificate for money or government bonds in the amount of $30,000 on deposit with the Ohio State Treasurer;
            • BMV certificate of self insurance, available to companies or persons who own at least 26 vehicles.