Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.
ODPS Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Moped Information
ODPS | BMV | Mopeds - Know the Rules
Know the Rules
To help make moped riding fun and safe, you, the operator, must know the following rules including:
Wearing a protective helmet with the chin strap properly fastened is required if you are under 18;
Mopeds must be equipped with at least one rear view mirror;
Whenever practical, mopeds must be operated within three feet of the right edge of the roadway;
Operators of mopeds may not carry passengers.
Many of the licensing and registration procedures required for automobiles and motorcycles are the same for mopeds.
To become licensed to operate a moped, 14 and 15-year-olds must pass the usual vision and written tests, as well as a road test. This rule also applies to persons not currently holding a valid operator's license, regardless of age.
Probationary motorized bicycle licenses are required for 14 and 15-year-old operators.
The probationary license can be revoked until the age of 16 if, EVEN ONE TIME, the operator violates state laws regulating moped operation or state or local traffic laws.
Operators are required to obtain and display a rear license plate.
REMEMBER: A moped operator must obey the same traffic laws that apply to operators of bicycles and motor vehicles. This includes obeying all traffic signs and signals, traveling in the same direction as the rest of the traffic, signaling turns, and yielding the right of way.
ODPS | BMV | What is a Moped?
What is a Moped?
Just because something looks like a moped, doesn't guarantee it is one in the eyes of the law. Only the Ohio Department of Public Safety can certify which vehicles meet state standards. You should not accept anyone else's statement that a vehicle is a moped.
The Ohio Revised Code defines a moped, or motorized bicycle, as any vehicle with two tandem wheels or one front and two rear wheels which is capable of being pedaled. The tires shall have an inflated width size of 1.75 inches (4.45 centimeters) minimum and shall have an overall inflated diameter of 19 inches (48.26 centimeters) minimum when mounted to the rim or wheel. The moped should be equipped with a helper motor too. The helper motor may not:
have a piston displacement of more than 50 cubic centimeters;
produce more than one brake horsepower; and
propel the vehicle at a maximum speed greater than 20 mph on a level surface.
If a vehicle exceeds any one of these criteria, it is legally a motorcycle. Be certain BEFORE you buy. Contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 614-752-7518, if you have questions.
ODPS | BMV | Ohio Driver License Information
Ohio's Moped Laws
Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) Section 4501-23-06 Tires and wheel rims. Tires shall have an inflated width size of 1.75 inches (4.45 centimeters) minimum and shall have an overall inflated diameter of 19 inches (48.26 centimeters) minimum when mounted to the rim or wheel.
Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Section 4511.521 and Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4501.17, the kind of helmet to be worn is a motorcycle helmet meeting state and federal standards.
ORC Section 4511.521, it is illegal for any person operating a moped to carry a passenger on the vehicle.
ORC Section 4511.521, you must stay within three feet of the right edge of the roadway unless it is not possible to ride there. So if you have to turn left, you may do so from a left-turn lane. Also, if you see an obstacle or road hazard up ahead, you are certainly permitted to steer around it, but use your rear view mirror to make sure you don't drive into the path of an oncoming car.
ORC Section 4511.521, if you are under 18, you must wear a helmet. Older drivers don't have to do anything special to operate a moped if they're already have a valid driver's license, but wearing a helmet would be an extra safety measure.
The following publication is available only in Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF). Click HERE to download the PDF Reader. If you already have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer, click on a hyperlink to access the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws.
In the case of manufacturers who market more than one model, only models listed below are approved by the State of Ohio. Only mopeds on this list may legally be operated in Ohio. To add a Motorized Bicycle Model to the approved list, use form BMV 4509 (PDF) (Word) - Manufacturer's Certification of Compliance with Motorized Bicycle.