ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Welcome to the ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.


ODPS Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Multi-Year Registration

General Information

Effective June 30, 2014, per Ohio Revised Code 4503.103, Ohio registrants will have the ability to apply for a Multi-Year registration. This option will allow customers to register their vehicle from two (2) to five (5) years (biennial registration now referred to as Multi-Year).

All regular registration fees are due at the time of issuance. For more information regarding registration fees CLICK HERE


Type of Plates

System assigned plate number, initial reserve and personalized.

Issuance Information

  • Deputy Registrar location on or after June 30, 2014.
  • Online at: www.oplates.com after August 10, 2014.
  • By mail at renewal – submit your renewal application on or after June 30, 2014.

Vehicle Information

The following vehicles are eligible for Multi-Year registration:

  • Passenger cars
  • Non-commercial trailers
  • Non-commercial trucks
  • Motorhomes
  • House vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Mopeds

The following vehicles are not eligible for Multi-Year registration:

  • Commercial Truck
  • Recreational Vehicle
  • Farm Truck
  • Bus
  • Church Bus
  • School Bus
  • Transit Bus

Registrant Eligibility

May be purchased by any Ohio motorist (some restrictions apply).


*Motorists with Multi-Year Registrations
Motorists who live in an E-Check county are eligible for a multi-year registration from two (2) to five (5) years. E-Check is still required biennially during the multi-year registration period for qualifying vehicles. Motorists with multi-year registrations that have been issued an extension must comply with the extension requirements in order to maintain a valid vehicle registration.

The seven E-Check counties in Ohio are:
Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage & Summit

E-Check county residents who do not comply with E-Check requirements are subject to suspension and confiscation per Ohio Revised Code section 4503.103(D). Customers who have had their license plates and registration suspended should mail them to:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 16520 or 16521
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6520 or 6521