ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Welcome to the ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of this Web page. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Ohio.gov

ODPS Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Fraternal Order of Police License Plates

Special Plates Types

Fraternal Order of License Plates

 

General Information
Any current and/or former law enforcement officials that are members in good standing, of the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) may apply for these plates.  $2.00 is disbursed to the Fraternal Order of Police of Ohio, Inc. to be for the purposes of the Fraternal Order of Police of Ohio, Inc.
Registrant Eligibility
Certifying statement must be obtained from the State Lodge. Customer should contact FOP; 222 East Town Street; Columbus, Ohio 43215-4611.
Title Requirements
Ohio Certificate of Title issued in officer's name, either singly or jointly, or officer's name on lease agreement.
Vehicle Information
These plates may be issued to passenger vehicles, non-commercial trucks, recreational vehicles, house vehicles and non-commercial trailers.
Type of Plates System assigned plate number, initial reserve and personalized.
Issuance Information

Requests for system assigned, reserved, or personalized license plates may be made at any Deputy Registrar's office, online at OPlates.com,  or by calling 1-800-589-8247.

Renewal of plates can be done at any Deputy Registrar's office, online at OPlates.com, by phone at 1-866-675-2837 or by mail.

All plates will be mailed directly to the address on your registration card unless customer requests otherwise. The deputy will issue your registration card, stickers and provide you with a permit which will allow you to operate your vehicle while your plates are being manufactured.

Special license plate applications are available at all Deputy Registrar license agency locations or can be downloaded by clicking HERE.
Cost
These plates cost an additional $12.00 annually plus the normal registration fees. The fee is determined by Ohio Revised Code section 4503.71.

 

Fees

New

Renewal

Special Plate Fee: System assigned $12.00 $12.00
Special Plate Fee: Reserved $37.00 $37.00
Special Plate Fee: Personalized $62.00 $62.00
New Plate Charge* $7.50 $0.00
License Tax: Passenger Car $31.00 $31.00
License Tax: Recreational Vehicle Up to $46.00 Up to $46.00
License Tax: Noncom Tk/Mtr Home Up to $81.00 Up to $81.00
Permissive Tax** $0.00 - $20.00 $0.00 - $20.00
Deputy Fee $3.50 $3.50
Plate Reflectorization Fee $0.25 per plate $0.00
County Sticker(s) $0.25 $0.00
Postage*** current rate current rate

 

*

The $7.50 fee does not apply if it is the first time the vehicle is registered by the owner or if the vehicle has not been plated in the last 12 months.

**

Permissive Tax is based upon customer's county of residence. (See county information)

***

No postage is required if renewed at Deputy Registrar.