

On March 27, 2020, Governor DeWine signed Sub. H.B. 197, which states that Ohio licenses (including driver license, CDLs, identification cards, temporary instruction permits, vehicle registrations and vehicle temporary tags), expiring during the declared State of Emergency shall remain valid until either 90 days after the declared emergency ends, or December 1, 2020, whichever comes sooner. The State of Emergency was declared on March 9, 2020.

EFFECTIVE DATE:

Effective March 19, 2020, BMV Deputy Registrar license agencies and Driver Examination services will be closed until further notice.

WHAT IF MY DRIVER LICENSE EXPIRES?

Driver Licenses, Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL), Identification Cards and Temporary Instruction Permits **shall remain valid until** 90 days after the declared State of Emergency ends or December 1, 2020, whichever comes sooner (per Sub. H.B. 197). Law enforcement has discretion to adjust enforcement and are asked to give consideration to a driver whose license expired and may have been unable to renew due to agency closure or self-quarantine situation.

CAN I FLY IF MY DRIVER LICENSE IS EXPIRED?

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) states: "Travelers with a state driver's license that expired beginning on March 1, 2020, and who are not able to renew at their state driver's license agency may still use it as acceptable identification at the checkpoint. TSA will accept expired driver's licenses a year after the expiration date, plus 60 days after the duration of the COVID-19 national emergency." We have joined other states in requesting a formal extension of the federally compliant driver license deadline. Please see TSA's website for further information.

CAN I USE AN EXPIRED DRIVER LICENSE/IDENTIFICATION CARD TO OPEN A BANK ACCOUNT, RENT A CAR, OR CONDUCT OTHER BUSINESS?

It is at the discretion of the banking institutions, rental car agencies, or other businesses to accept or not to accept an expired driver license or identification card. Please contact the individual business, before going in, to see what you need to bring as identification.



HOW CAN MY CHILD GET THEIR TEMPORARY DRIVER LICENSE PACKET?

Until further notice, all driver license services have been suspended. Your child can go online and study the <u>Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws</u> to prepare for the knowledge test once services have been restored.

WHAT IF I HAVE ALREADY SCHEDULED MY DRIVING TEST?

All driving services are suspended until further notice. If you currently have a test scheduled, you will be notified of the cancellation.

WHAT ABOUT MY COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL) AND COMMERCIAL REGISTRATION?

The below five Deputy Registrar and Driver Examination stations will be open for CDL and commercial related services:

Central Ohio:

Deputy Registrar – 4740 Cemetery Road, Columbus 43026 Driver Exam Station – 4738 Cemetery Road, Columbus 43026

NE Ohio:

Deputy Registrar – 7000 Biddulph Road, Brooklyn 44144 Driver Exam Station – 12000 Snow Road, Parma 44130

SE Ohio:

Deputy Registrar – 142 Gross Street, Suite B, Marietta 45750 Driver Exam Station – 142 Gross Street, Suite A, Marietta

NW Ohio:

Deputy Registrar – 1616 E. Wooster Street, Suite 30, Bowling Green 43402 Driver Exam Station - 1616 E. Wooster Street, Suite 30, Bowling Green 43402

SW Ohio:

Deputy Registrar – 10938 Hamilton Avenue, Mt. Healthy 45231 Driver Exam Station - 10940 Hamilton Avenue, Cincinnati 45231

NOTE: The federal motor carrier safety administration (FMCSA) has extended MCERT and HAZMAT requirements. FMCSA CDL Waiver 03-24-2020



HOW CAN I RENEW MY VEHICLE REGISTRATION?

Vehicle Registration renewals can be done online at www.oplates.com, or by mail with your BMV vehicle registration renewal notice.

WHAT IF MY CURRENT TEMPORARY TAG EXPIRES? You do not need a new temporary tag at this time - vehicle registrations and vehicle temporary tags shall remain valid until 90 days after the declared State of Emergency ends or December 1, 2020, whichever comes sooner (Per Sub. H.B. 197).

I JUST BOUGHT A CAR, HOW DO I GET A TEMPORARY TAG?

We are currently experiencing a high volume of orders at this time and processing times are longer than usual.

A few ways:

- 1. If you purchase a car from a dealership, you can purchase a temporary tag at that time, if they sell temporary tags.
- 2. If your dealership does not sell temporary tags, you can purchase a Temporary Tag through BMV Online Services www.oplates.com.
- 3. If you bought your car in a casual sale (person to person) the buyer can purchase a Temporary Tag through BMV Online Services www.oplates.com.

If you use BMV Online Services to purchase a Temporary Tag, you will need to upload a copy of your DL or ID, the front and back of the Title (notarized to the buyer), or the Bill of Sale. A new vehicle registration and 90 day temporary tag will be mailed to the address registered to the vehicle.

WHAT ABOUT E-CHECK REQUIREMENT?

The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency has granted a six month extension on E-checks for all vehicles that require an e-check from February 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020. Ohio BMV is providing an automatic extension so that motorists can renew their vehicle's registration without a passing E-Check certificate. Customers have the ability to complete an online www.oplates.com, mail-in, or IVR registration renewal without being prompted for an E-Check certification. Go to ohioecheck.org for updates and information.



WHAT ABOUT SALVAGE INSPECTIONS?

All Ohio State Highway Patrol Vehicle Inspection locations will be closed effective immediately until further notice. All inspection appointments have been canceled through March 27, 2020. Customers should verify their inspection appointment has not been canceled 48 hours prior to arrival for any appointment after March 30, 2020. Once operations have resumed, those with cancelled appointments will be contacted via phone or email so they may reschedule their appointment. For more information, please call 844-610-0010.

WHAT ABOUT SCHOOL BUS INSPECTIONS?

All Ohio State Highway Patrol Motor Vehicle Inspection teams have suspended school bus inspections. Motor Vehicle Inspection teams will be contacting Transportation. Directors via phone or email so they may reschedule inspection activity. The Patrol will work with those school administrators that wish to continue with school bus inspections during the extended spring break. For more information, please call 844-610-0010.

QUESTIONS?

Please visit www.bmv.ohio.gov or call the BMV at 844-644-6268.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For additional information on COVID-19, visit coronavirus.ohio.gov.

For answers to your COVID-19 questions, call 1-833-4ASKODH (1-833-427-5634).

If you or a loved one are experiencing anxiety related to the coronavirus pandemic, help is available. Call the Disaster Distress Helpline at 1.800.985.5990 (1.800.846.8517 TTY), connect with a trained counselor through the Ohio Crisis Text Line – text the keyword "4HOPE" to 741 741, or call the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services help line at 1.877.275.6364 to find resources in your community.